The Great Cobar Museum, owned and operated by Cobar Shire Council, is a historic building constructed in 1910. Originally the building was the Administration Centre for the Great Cobar Copper Mine, it was gifted to Council in the 1960s. The museum is also home to Cobar’s accredited Visitor Information Centre.
 A masterplan was developed focusing on three key projects:
In 2021, significant upgrades were made to restore and preserve the building, bringing it back to its former glory. These upgrades included weatherproofing the roof, installing an accessible ramp, and adding new exhibitions to enhance the visitor experience.Â
In 2022 Council secured funding from the government to deliver further improvements to the exterior visitor experience at the Great Cobar Museum
The development of the Museum masterplan identified the need to upgrade the Coach House building to ensure the exhibits are stored safely and preserved for future visitors. It also highlighted the need for interactive spaces to enhance the visitor experience.
Stage 2 of the Great Cobar Museum upgrades involved constructing a new Coach House building that is fit for purpose. This stage also included a new interactive underground mining experience, showcasing what miners experience, their work environment, and educating visitors.
Completed – Exhibit Opening Soon
This project is proudly funded by the NSW Government in association with Cobar Shire Council.Â
The project is complete.

























Name: Carly Hunter, Project CoordinatorÂ
Phone: (02) 6836 5888
Email: mail@cobar.nsw.gov.auÂ